Rio Caribe from Rogue Chocolatier is here!


riocaribe_rogue08The newest bar from Rogue Chocolatier has finally arrived and it is time for a tasting!  This bar is very different than the other two bars currently produced by Rogue.  The Rio Caribe has a very unique character compared to the Sambirano and the Hispaniola, which offer fruity or citrus flavors in the mix.  Let’s see how this bar compares, shall we?


From the very start you can tell the Rio Caribe is a dark bar.  The aroma is dark, roasted.  The flavor of the deep chocolate has hints of coffee and nuts that linger on the palate.  Here are my notes for this bar:  brown, coffee, nuts, roasted, not complex, long finish


Please feel free add your comments as the bar makes its way around.


Buy it now at Drexelius Chocolates


This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rio Caribe from Rogue Chocolatier is here!

  1. Anna Campbell says:

    Although I am not a connoisseur, I love chocolate. Molly let me sample this one today and it was definitely interesting. I found the only word I could describe with was “earthy” before reading that it was suppose to have hints of coffee, nuts and blood oranges. I couldn’t really find the blood orange but I think its a really interesting concept. I did enjoy it, as I do the other Rogue bars.

  2. mark says:

    you pretty much nailed it.
    coffee and nuts prevail.
    dark, rich and smooth.
    a little tart and a little buttery.
    I like it!

  3. David Cameron says:

    This new bar took me by surprise I must say. In my opinion the Sambirano and the Hispaniola both had such a rich dark and refined taste; this led me to speculate that the next Rogue genius creation would be along the same lines. Honestly, as much anticipation as there was over this new bar, I was definately NOT dissapointed. The Rio Caribe has its own unique taste. It has character and I believe that’s a quality that only the best bars have. I had a very small bite and yet the taste of coffee and coco butter remained strong for quite awhile. Overall, its a classy bar. If you want to be classy, eat this bar.

  4. Pingback: Popular Posts « The Quest for Incredible Chocolate

  5. Excellent blog! I actually love how it’s easy on my eyes as well as the info are well written. I am wondering how I may be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

