Xooro Or Not To Xooro?


Xooro premium frittersWhat was that you said?  You haven’t been to Xooro?  Neither had I, but I was excited to try it!


This past summer my boyfriend and I made ourselves a delicious treat.  We were at the local fair and got ourselves freshly made churros, which we brought it home and ate with melted Rogue Chocolatier (read that delicious post here).  He told me in Spain they have churros and chocolate for breakfast.  Lucky Spaniards!


Xooro fritters and hot dipping chocolateThen he found a place called Xooroin Santa Monica that specializes in gourmet churros, which is just off 3rd Street Promenade.  We went on a busy Saturday night and found the place empty except for the two employees.  Lucky us!  First in line!  Our twelve “premium fritters,” two vanilla filled and hot chocolate for dipping ran us $10.  We didn’t get any of the fancy filled fritters in the photo above.


The fritters were served quickly and warm.  They were crunchy on the outside and dense inside, which is not what I was expecting.  I wanted them to be soft and chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside.  Instead, it was hard and tasted stale!  The half-full cup of dipping chocolate had the consistancy of thick gravy.  Not drinkable like hot chocolate and the chocolate “flavor” –> you know the smell and taste of packaged hot cocoa?  The vanilla filled fritter tasted better because the filling added flavor and softened it up a bit, but I could only have two bites before I was done with it because it was too sweet.  I left wondering how they manage to pay the rent.


I can see how the dipped churros might have better flavor.  They soften the fritter and the flavor masks the staleness, but I would think it would be too sweet.  I did not have any of these so this is just my opinion.  If you have had one of these, let me know what you thought.


Do you know of a good place for churros?  I would love to know.  Then we can have churros and chocolate all year!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Xooro Or Not To Xooro?

  1. Pingback: Churros Calientes – Review | The Quest for Incredible Chocolate

Leave a Reply

