Tricking the Consumer


It is well known that smell is a big part of taste.  Scientists have found that the sense of smell is most accute between the ages of 30-60 and then it begins to decline.  Women of all ages are more accurate than men at identifying odors.


HawkeyeSmell also enhances our life by stimulating our desire to eat, enhancing social occasions and warning us of dangers like fire or spoiled food.  If you remember Hawkeye on M*A*S*H, he was always smelling his food and sometimes he went hungry.


Now there is a company that wants to infuse our products with aromas.  You would pop open a can of tomatoes and the smell of fresh basil and garden fresh tomatoes would fill the air.  The rim of the can would be infused with these odors and give you the sense of “freshness.”  Grab the Doritos and rip open the bag to encounter a cheesier smell, but the product would not have more cheese (or more calories).  What could be wrong with that?


Well, companies won’t have to put these additions on the ingredients label so I don’t know what I’m not getting.  Plus, how do I know if the product is spoiled?   If the smell infusion is telling me it is “garden fresh,” do I  have to put the product in my recipe or mouth to find out if it is spoiled?  Or are they betting that I will just check the date and throw it away and have to buy more because I won’t want to risk getting sick?


How is this different than artificial flavor or coloring?  For example, making meat redder for visual appeal or chips “cheesier” flavored.  The idea just smells bad to me.  I think it is because I rely on my sense of smell to determine whether I want to eat things.  Much like Hawkeye.  If I come across a new item, I find myself sniffing it to get an understanding of what I am about to eat…or not eat.  I rarely pop things in my mouth that are unfamiliar.  This new technology would be an interesting hurdle. What do you think?


Thankfully, you wouldn’t have to worry about that when buying chocolate from Drexelius Chocolates because we don’t carry anything with artificial colors, flavors or additives.  All of our products are 100% all natural chocolate.  The best chocolate in the world.  Buy some today and savor it from first sniff to last square.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, info and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

