Japanese Valentine’s Day


Not all countries celebrate Valentine’s Day the same.


Did you know that on February 14th in Japan the men get the chocolate?


Women will give men one of two types of chocolate gifts – Giri Choco or Honmei Choco. Which gift you get is determined by your association to the woman.


Giri Choco does not cost much and translates as “obligation chocolate.”  Japanese women give out about 20-30 of giri choco to casual acquaintances, co-workers, bosses, etc.  On the other hand, honmei choco (shown in the image) means “sweetheart chocolate” and is meant to be given to the men who are special in a woman’s life, such as boyfriends, lovers or husbands.


I know…it seems backward, but in a way it also feels right.  Women are sharing the thing they love most with the men in their lives.  Makes sense to me!  This year, share your love of chocolate with the men in your life and help them understand your passion if they don’t already 🙂





If you like what you just read…then make it easier on yourself by subscribing to the feed of these posts so you can be the first to know what’s up with chocolate.  Plus, you’ll be loved forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, info and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Japanese Valentine’s Day

  1. t shirt screen printing says:

    What gifts you think I should get my kids and my wife for Valentine’s Day? I only have one more day left in I’m confused.. I want to get something unique. Any ideas? Thanks for your help.

    • You are so sweet to ask! Unique is what we do at Drexelius Chocolates so you’ve asked the right person.

      For the wife, check out Drexelius Chocolates for some great gift sets. Maybe the chocolate and wine pairing kit that you can enjoy together? You might also consider the Bar of the Month club. It’s the gift that gives over and over…and over!

      Thanks for stopping by to read. I appreciate your comment.
      Happy Valentine’s Day ❤

  2. Ted Cook says:

    Reading this reminds me of my late room mate. That guy was one of the smartest men I know, but he was a little too original for my tastes though. Anyways I appreciated reading this, thanks. Will give me something to argue about when I see him.

Leave a Reply

