Sugar in Chocolate – Vegan or Not?


At the SF Chocolate Salon, people were asking great questions, but the one that stuck out the most was about white sugar.  White sugar?  I wondered why they were asking about it, so I looked it up.


Not everyone, including me before my research, might know that sugar might use animal bones in the carbon filters during refining to whiten the sugar.  These filters are not used in making white beet sugar or raw cane sugar.  People at the Salon asking about white sugar might have been vegan and looking to stay within their animal-free ethics.


How do they make bone-char?  They almost incinerate the animal bones to leave activated carbon, which is then used in the filters.  The bones come from animals fit for human consumption and are heated to very, very high temperatures so there is no risk of disease.


If bone-char is used by a company in the production of their refined sugar, this means it will also be in their brown and confectioner’s sugar.  Turbinado sugar is never filtered with bone char.  Evaporated cane juice is not refined, which means it retains its natural nutrients and doesn’t come into contact with bone char.  Cane sugar is also an unrefined product.


Some large companies and grocery chains might buy from several different refineries, so there is no way of knowing whether the sugar is pure vegan when buying from these stores.  It’s good to know that not all companies use animal bones in their carbon filters.  ***Click here to see a list of companies that do and do not use bone-char filters.***


Drexelius Chocolates is proud to bring you the finest, most delicious chocolate made by the best chocolate companies anywhere.  You will find the ingredients listed right on the site, which makes shopping that much easier and helps you find just what you are looking for.  Thank you for taking the time to read our blog.  Please share Drexelius Chocolates with your friends!

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Chocolate, info and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sugar in Chocolate – Vegan or Not?

  1. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate | The Quest for Incredible Chocolate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s