Junior Mints to the Rescue


As I was packing for a recent vacation, I ran into an issue:  What would I do about chocolate?  I would be in very hot temperatures for numerous days where chocolate would surely melt.  I didn’t want to worry about it constantly or want the chocolate to become puddles in their packages.  What a mess!


I decided to rely on chocolate found on the road at shops and stores.  I would not take any of my delicious chocolate with me.  No Chuao.  No Amano or Claudio Corallo or Nunu.  There would be something chocolate and delicious for me to enjoy on my journey…right?


Well, finding good chocolate was a lot harder than I thought.  I avoid lactose when possible and want good ingredients, which made my selection even smaller.  Every chocolate bar in the store had lactose or butterfat or milk in some form -> even the chocolate that claimed to be “dark.”  My chocolate meter was running low and I was giving up hope.  Finally, there was a gleam of happiness.  Junior Mints had a good ingredient list and there was no milk in sight.  I snatched up the box with glee.  I love Junior Mints!  Cool, creamy mint and dark chocolate mixing so happily together.


The box had to be kept in a cool place.  Otherwise, the sweet rattle of the Junior Mints box went quiet as they melted into one larger, gooey Mint.  The mint overpowers the chocolate because the mint lingers on the tongue, but Junior Mints came through and made me happy for a few days on the road.  Good work, Junior Mints!


Junior Mints Ingredients:  sugar, semi-sweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, soya lecithin – an emulsifier, vanillin – an artificial flavor), corn syrup, confectioner’s glaze, modified food starch, peppermint oil, invertase (an enzyme that breaks down sucrose into glucose and fructose), soya albumin (a natural form of water-soluble soy protein), gelatin


I am constantly on the search for good chocolate, which is why you can trust finding incredibly delicious chocolate at Drexelius Chocolates.  Have you found some amazing chocolate you’d like to tell me about?  Let me know (e-mail me).  I’d love to hear about it!  In the meantime, order some uncommonly delicious chocolate from Drexelius Chocolates and delight your taste buds.




If you like what you just read…then make it easier on yourself by subscribing to the feed of these posts so you can be the first to know what’s up with chocolate.  Plus, you’ll be loved forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

