Chocolate Fries


When I was a kid, McDonald’s golden arches formed my heavens gate.  My sister Margrit loves to remind me how my mom would deliver McDonald’s to me at school for lunch.  It happened.  And, yes, my sister did have to walk uphill in the snow to get to the bus stop.  I can’t help being the youngest.  My mom was worn out by the time she got to me.  I happily reaped the benefits.


Anyway, back to Mickey D’s.  My friends and I would ride our bikes across town to get some lunch.  One day, I realized that the salty goodness of the fries went along famously with the sweet chocolate shake.  So I cracked open the plastic top and dipped my fries into the shake.  Holly stared at me.  Chocolate shake covered my fries and I stuffed it in my mouth.  Good lord!  Praise be!  I found salvation.


There was no turning back.  Everywhere I went I had to dip my fries in to my chocolate shake to enjoy the salty sweet goodness.  I noticed other people doing it, too.  I was not alone in my passion.


To this day, I ask people if they dip fries in their shake.  Some stare at me and reply quizzically.  Others smile and say they’ve tried it.  Then there are those who are truly in my camp.  Their eyes widen, they move closer as they take a deep breath in, “Oh, yes.  Best.  Thing.  Ever.”


For those of you who love salty sweet and want to get your fix without having to run out to a fast food joint, enjoy some of Drexelius Chocolates salty wonderbars.  A perfect blend of salt and sweet.

  • BruCo Salt – made with two of Italy’s finest sea salts
  • Nirvana Dark with Sea Salt and Caramel – make your taste buds sing
  • Chuao Panko Dark – a delight for the taste buds
  • Original Beans Esmeraldas Milk – won’t smack you with sweetness


After finding out that the McDonald’s strawberry shake has over 59 ingredients, I think I’ll stick to more natural foods like the ones you find at Drexelius Chocolates.  Treat yourself to these incredibly delicious chocolate bars and experience bliss today!

If you like what you just read…then make it easier on yourself by subscribing to the feed of these posts so you can be the first to know what’s up with chocolate.  Plus, you’ll be loved forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, info and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Fries

  1. Alex says:

    I’ve never actually tried that but I am very curious – I think a trip to McDonalds is in my future 🙂

  2. Geni says:

    I thought I was the only crazy one who dipped their fries in the shake…but I dipped my fries in the hotfudge sauce as well! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Chocolate and Salt | The Quest for Incredible Chocolate

Leave a Reply

