Madécasse Chocolate review


I have come across Madécasse Chocolate many times and tasted it a few, but never sat down to do a tasting.  All of the Madécasse bars are made in Madagascar and touts itself as one of the only fine chocolates made in Africa.  Let’s decide if this chocolate is good enough to be a part of Drexelius Chocolates, shall we?


I chose four dark chocolate bars.  The bars come in plain recyclable paper wrapping enclosed in gold foil.  The bar ingredients are simple: cocoa beans, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, natural vanilla.  This is off to a very good start.  Let’s taste the chocolate!

  • 63% – Mouthfeel is chewy, lumpy with notes of sour fruit; crumbly texture; medium snap
  • 70% – Sticky on the tongue; harsh notes of tart and sour fruit; crumbly texture; medium snap;  long finish
  • 75% – Chewy with a mild flavor; crumbly texture; decent snap
  • 80% – Strong flavor of super sour fruit and dry, earthy (dirt) notes; chewy on the tongue; crumbly texture; decent snap; reluctant to have another piece of this bar

The Madécasse chocolate bars don’t have pleasant mouthfeel or flavor.  As you can see, these bars had a weird chewy consistency reminiscent of chewing gum.   I didn’t find any chocolate flavor in any of the bars.  The 80% was my least favorite.  I didn’t want to have my second tasting piece.  I stared at the small second 80% chocolate piece for a few moments, but gave in.  I’m glad it is over.


So there you have it.  The Madécasse chocolate bars will definitely not be a part of Drexelius Chocolates until the quality of the bars is much, much better.  Thank goodness there are a bunch of other wonderful chocolate makers who have already gone above and beyond to create delicious, mouth-watering chocolate for us to enjoy.  Savor some small batch chocolate today.

Orders over $25 ship free at Drexelius Chocolates.

Like what you just read? Be the first to know what’s up with all things chocolate.  Follow me @drexchocolates, subscribe to my feed or sign up for chocolate blog updates. ❤ forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Madécasse Chocolate review

  1. Lowe says:

    I didn’t dislike the Madecasse bar as much as you did. My enjoyment of the 70% Madecasse bar that I tasted and reviewed was above average; I rated it a 6 out of 10. You can find my detailed rating notes at “Choco Files”, https://sites.google.com/site/chocolatereviewsite/home/reviews

    • Thanks for taking time to read my review. Glad you enjoyed the Madécasse bar, but I gave these bars a few tries and none of the tastings came out well. I especially didn’t like the chewy texture. Nasty.

      Thanks for the link to your reviews. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

