Tour de (South) France – Chocolate #1


On my recent trip to the south of France, I encountered quite a bit of chocolate.  I didn’t really realize it until I got home how much chocolate I ate during my week there and I wasn’t even really trying!  On our first day out, we toured a few towns.  We hit St. Paul-de-Vence, Eze and Villefranche-sur-Mer and each had a charm all its own.  St. Paul-de-Vence is an 11th-century medieval fortified village with beautifully laid stone streets and narrow passages.  Quaint little shops are tucked into the alleyways.  I could have easily spent a whole day here strolling and shopping.


Eze is another medieval town, but it is on the coast.  It has an eagle’s nest lookout point that offers (from what we read) spectacular views of the Mediterranean coast.  Unfortunately, the lookout was closed the day we went.  The journey to the top of the town was worth the trip.  We got to check out the souvenir shops and the super pricey hotel/restaurant Chateau de la Chevre d’Or that also find their homes in the town walls.




Our final stop for this day was in the town of Villefranche-sur-mer, which is a port town next to Nice.  We were checking out an open market in the port when I saw signs for crepes.  My eyes lit up and we decided to stop for some drinks.  I immediately ordered the crepe chocolat, s’il vous plait!  I would have preferred dark chocolate, but it did the trick 🙂


On the way home we stopped at a gas station to pick up a few items.  We scoured the chocolate items for something we’d like to try.  After a long and arduous search, my boyfriend spotted just the thing…and we’ll talk about that in my next France post.


In the meantime, don’t wait to enjoy truly delicious chocolate.  Order chocolate now from Drexelius Chocolates and give your taste buds a treat!

***Free Shipping on orders over $25***

Travel makes me hungry! Be the first to know what’s up with all things chocolate.  Follow me @drexchocolates, subscribe to my feed or sign up for chocolate blog updates. ❤ forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

