Tour de (South) France – Chocolate #3


While we were in the south of France we took a little side trip over the border to Italy.  Isn’t that great?  I guess it’s kind of like going into another state here in the US, which seems to be more easily done on the east coast since the states are smaller.  Here on the west coast the states are much larger and getting to another state takes an eternity (or so it seems!).


Anyway, back to Italy.  We crossed over the border into Italy and headed for a small coastal town called SanRemo.  We hiked up La Pigna (the Pinecone), which is the oldest part of the city. If you go here, get ready for a very good workout as you climb the tiny, steep brick paved streets and covered alleyways.  It winds you up the hill to the gardens and Madonna della Costa sanctuary at the top.  The views up here of the town and coast are incredible!


After this physical jaunt, we were all ready to sit down and have some drinks and lunch.  So we found a cafe in the main part of town.  The food was incredible.  I, of course, found some yummy chocolate delights.

Just look at that table!  Everything we ate was fresh and out-of-this-world good.  The cookie was my favorite.  The Italians really know how to do cookies.  It had two thick, but delicate, crumble-in-your-mouth butter cookies.  It had a soft, creamy chocolate ganache spread in between.  Oh, my!  I was in tasty goodness heaven 🙂  I almost didn’t share any with my boyfriend because I was devouring it so fast.  I wanted to fill my suitcase with a few dozen and bring them home, but I knew Homeland Security would have a field day and maybe confiscate my delicious treasures.  So I came home empty-handed, but full of memories of this delicious day.


I will try to recreate this awesome treat soon.  If you know of the recipe or one close to it, I would greatly appreciate it.  Until then I can still enjoy wonderful chocolate.  Order some incredible chocolate from Drexelius Chocolates today and treat yourself (or someone you love) to something outstanding!

***Free Shipping on orders over $25***

Delicious Italy! Be the first to know what’s up with all things chocolate.  Follow me @drexchocolates, subscribe to my feed or sign up for chocolate blog updates. ❤ forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tour de (South) France – Chocolate #3

  1. Molly, you are KILLING ME! Those cookies look and sound amazing and I am very hungry! Your trip sounds so wonderful. Keep having more fun! 🙂

  2. I would love to be in SanRemo right now. If you like Jazz its a great place to be in the summer for the jazz festival. The treats look so tasty. Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

