Nosh This


I was in San Francisco for the Fancy Food Show recently and came across something unexpected.  There was a small food fair at the local church to raise money for charity so we headed on over.  We didn’t know what to expect.  There might be two tables with rice crispy treats and Chex party mix.  Who knows?  It is for charity so we wanted to check it out.


Well, surprise surpise, we were met with about 15 vendors selling everything from homemade jelly to handmade pasta.  The Grilled Cheese Guy was there, plus The Urban Cook and Nosh This.  The sights and smells were delightful and it was too bad that we just had eaten.  The Urban Cook had a mint crackle bar that he created with inspiration from the Chuao Firecracker Dark bar.  No comparison.  Firecracker had his chocolate bar beat by a mega mile.

Then I went over to Nosh This, who was showcasing Bacon Crack and Black Peppercorn Salted Caramels.  This San Francisco-based company has only been in business since August of 2010.  Owner and chocolatier Kai Kronfield said the Bacon Crack is his best-seller.  It is bacon, toffee and almonds covered in E. Guittard chocolate, which makes for a super mix of salty, sweet and savory.  As for the caramels, they are smooth and creamy with a touch of salt and a hit of pepper.  Kai says he doesn’t like sticky caramel so he adds a lot of butter, which is just fine by me.  I l-o-v-e butter!  The spicy heat of the black peppercorn is really great against the sweet caramel.  Maybe he will make some of these covered in chocolate for me 🙂

Update:  He doesn’t have online sales yet, but I hope he’ll say yes to Drexelius Chocolates.  Here is Kai’s website so you can check out all his great offerings and catch up with him.  NoshThis.com


I love travel.  I love chocolate.  I love exploring.  I love sharing.  Thank you for joining me on my quest for incredible chocolate.  Check out the incredible selection at Drexelius Chocolates and enjoy some delicious chocolate with a friend today.

***Free Shipping on orders over $25***

Great chocolate find! Be the first to know what’s up with all things chocolate.  Follow me @drexchocolates, subscribe to my feed or sign up for chocolate blog updates. ❤ forever.  And tell a friend because sharing is caring!

This entry was posted in Chocolate, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nosh This

  1. I want bacon crack! That toffee looks to. die. for.

Leave a Reply

